30-day song challenge Day 2: a song with a number in the title

Derek James
2 min readMar 19, 2020

--

Music is one of the most personal things about a person. The songs someone listens to can tell you a lot about them. I’ve always thought these daily song challenges were interesting but an Instagram post on some of my favorite songs feels insufficient. So I’m writing about them instead. Thank you for reading.

“100” is the track that really grabbed me from Brandi Carlile’s Bear Creek album. It’s on my list of songs that I’ve worked on covering myself but haven’t quite got it there.

At any rate, I think the lyrical themes are interesting. “100” has been a song about a person who has a friend or lover leave their life and all they wish for is them to cross that person’s mind. In a way, it’s a validation that the relationship mattered.

Yet, the fact that “If I lived to be 100 // would I ever cross your mind?” is a question that says the protagonist isn’t sure if that person will wonder about them down the road. To have someone you cared about leave your life and never think about you again is even sadder than being left in the first place.

The main character of this song isn’t asking for a coffee date or even a phone call down the road. They just want to cross the mind of the person who left their life just once.

--

--

Derek James

Former NBA and WNBA media member | Current Content Strategist | #LGRW | Casual Musician